“It were much to be desired, that when mathematical processes pass through the human brain instead of through the medium of inanimate mechanism, it were equally a necessity of things that the reasonings connected with operations should hold the same just place as a clear and well-defined branch of the subject of analysis, a fundamental but yet independent ingredient in the science, which they must do in studying the engine.” Sketch of the Analytical Engine (1843), Ada Lovelace

Les réseaux de neurones

translated by Tibor Udvari

English      中文      español      한국어      日本語

Près d’un siècle avant la conception des réseaux neuronaux, Ada Lovelace a décrit l’ambition de construire «l’analyse du système nerveux». Bien que les analogies spéculatives entre les cerveaux et les machines soient aussi anciennes que la philosophie de l’informatique elle-même, ce n’est que quand Charles Babbage, le professeur d’Ada, a proposé le moteur analytique que nous avons imaginés de “calculatrices” ayant des capacités cognitives humaines. Ada n’a pas pour voir son rêve de construire le moteur se concrétiser, car les ingénieurs de l’époque étaient incapables de construire les circuits complexes que nécessitaient ses schémas. Néanmoins, l’idée a été transmise au siècle suivant quand Alan Turing l’a cité comme l’inspiration pour le Jeu d’imitation, ce qui allait bientôt être appelé le «Test de Turing». Ses ruminations dans les limites du calcul ont incité le premier boom l’intelligence artificielle, préparant le terrain pour le premier âge d’or des réseaux de neurones.

La naissance et la renaissance des réseaux de neurones

La récente résurgence des réseaux de neurones est une histoire particulière. Intimement liés aux débuts de l’IA, les réseaux neuronaux ont été formalisés pour la première fois à la fin des années 1940 sous la forme de machines de type B de Turing, en s’appuyant sur des recherches antérieures sur plasticité neuronale par des neuroscientifiques et des psychologues cognitifs qui étudient le processus d’apprentissage chez les êtres humains. Alors que la mécanique du développement cérébral était découverte, les informaticiens ont expérimenté des versions idéalisées du potentiel d’action et de la rétropropagation neurale pour simuler ce processus dans des machines.

Aujourd’hui, la plupart des scientifiques déconseillent de prendre cette analogie trop au sérieux, car les réseaux neuronaux sont strictement conçus pour résoudre les problèmes d’apprentissage machine, plutôt que de représenter le cerveau précisément, alors qu’un domaine complètement différent, les neurosciences computationnelles ont relevé le défi de modéliser fidèlement le cerveau. Néanmoins, la métaphore de l’unité de base des réseaux de neurones le neurone biologique simplifié s’est maintenue au fil des décennies. La progression des neurones biologiques aux neurones artificiels peut être résumée par les figures suivantes.

Anatomie d'un neurone biologique
Source: ASU school of life sciences
Corps de neurone simplifié dans un réseau
Source: Gurney, 1997. An Introduction to Neural Networks
Un neurone artificiel
 

Les réseaux de neurones ont fait un grand pas en avant lorsque Frank Rosenblatt a conçu le Perceptron à la fin des années 1950, un type de classificateur linéaire que nous avons vu dans le dernier chapitre. Publiquement financé par la marine américaine, le perceptron Mark 1 a été conçu pour effectuer une reconnaissance d’image à partir d’un ensemble de photocellules, de potentiomètres et de moteurs électriques. Son efficacité à compléter des circuits électriques complexes a conduit le New York Times en 1958 à prédire qu’une machine allait bientôt «marcher, parler, voir, écrire, se reproduire et être consciente de son existence».

Le battage médiatique précoce inspirerait les écrivains de science-fiction pour les décennies à venir, mais l’excitation était beaucoup plus tempérée dans la communauté universitaire. Le livre de 1969 de Marvin Minsky et Seymour Papert, Perceptrons, a démontré diverses limitations - même triviales - conduisant par inadvertance à un déclin d’intérêt à la fois dans le milieu universitaire et dans le grand public, qui avait supposé par erreur que les ordinateurs suivraient simplement le rythme effréné du pouvoir de calcul. Même Turing lui-même a déclaré que les machines possédaient une intelligence de niveau humain d’ici 2000.

Malgré un certain nombre d’améliorations discrètes mais significatives apportées aux réseaux de neurones dans les années 80 et 90 [1][2][3], ils sont restés sur la touche jusqu’aux années 2000. La plupart des applications de l’apprentissage automatique les domaines commerciaux et industriels se sont concentrés sur les machines à vecteurs de supports et diverses autres approches. À partir de 2009 et surtout à partir de 2012, les réseaux neuronaux sont redevenus les algorithmes dominantes de l’apprentissage automatique. Leur résurgence a été largement provoquée par l’émergence des réseaux de neurones convolutifs et de réseaux de neurones récurrents, qui ont dépassé (parfois de manière dramatique) l’état de l’art des méthodes antérieures pour les problèmes clés dans le domaine audiovisuel. De plus, ils ont un certain nombre de nouvelles applications et propriétés inédites qui ont attiré l’attention des artistes et des autres en dehors du domaine de l’IA proprement dit. Ce livre examinera de plus près les réseaux de neurones convolutifs, dans un prochain chapitre dédié.

Bien que de nombreux algorithmes d’apprentissage aient été proposés au fil des années, nous concentrerons surtout notre attention sur les réseaux de neurones pour les raisons suivantes:

  • Ils ont une formulation étonnamment simple et intuitive.
  • Les réseaux neuronaux profonds sont l’état de l’art dans plusieurs problèmes d’apprentissage machine importantes, celles les plus pertinentes pour ce livre.
  • La plupart des utilisations créatives récentes de l’apprentissage automatique ont été faites avec des réseaux de neurones.

De classificateurs linéaires aux neurones

Rappelez-vous du chapitre précédent que l’entrée d’un classificateur linéaire 2d ou régresseur a la forme:

Plus généralement, dans un nombre quelconque de dimensions, il peut être exprimé comme

Dans le cas de la régression, nous donne notre sortie prédite, étant donné le vecteur d’entrée . Dans le cas de la classification, notre classe prédite est donnée par

Chaque poids, , peut être interprété comme signifiant l’influence relative de l’entrée sur laquelle il est multiplié par . Le terme dans l’équation est souvent appelé le biais, car il contrôle la façon dont le neurone est prédisposé à déclencher un 1 ou un 0, quel que soit le poids. Un biais élevée fait que le neurone nécessite une grande valeur en entrée pour produire un 1, un biais faible le permet plus facilement.

Nous pouvons passer de cette formule à un réseau de neurones en introduisant deux innovations. Le premier est l’ajout d’une fonction d’activation, qui transforme notre discriminateur linéaire en ce qu’on appelle un neurone, ou une « unité » (pour les dissocier de l’analogie cérébrale). La deuxième innovation est une architecture de neurones qui sont connectés séquentiellement en couches. Nous présenterons ces innovations dans cet ordre.

Fonction d’activation

Dans les réseaux de neurones artificiels et biologiques, un neurone ne sort pas seulement son entrée. Au lieu de cela, il y a une autre étape, appelée une fonction d’activation, analogue au taux de potentiel d’action tirant dans le cerveau. La fonction d’activation prend la même somme pondérée que précédemment, , puis la transforme une fois de plus avant de la sortir finalement.

De nombreuses fonctions d’activation ont été proposées, mais pour l’instant nous allons en décrire deux en détail: sigmoïde et ReLU.

Historiquement, la fonction sigmoïde est la fonction d’activation la plus ancienne et la plus populaire. Il est défini comme:

est la constante exponentielle, à peu près égale à 2,71828. Un neurone qui utilise un sigmoïde comme fonction d’activation est appelé un neurone sigmoïde. Nous fixons d’abord la variable à la somme pondérée des entrées, puis la transmettons à la fonction sigmoïde.

Au début, cette équation peut sembler compliquée et arbitraire, mais elle a en réalité une forme très simple, que nous pouvons visualiser si nous traçons la valeur de en fonction de l’entrée .

Fonction d'activation sigmoïde

Nous pouvons voir que agit comme une sorte de fonction de « écrasement », qui condense notre sortie précédente non bornée de 0 à 1. Au centre, où , . Pour les grandes valeurs négatives de , le terme dans le dénominateur croît exponentiellement, et se rapproche de 0. Inversement, les valeurs positives élevées de rétrécit à 0, donc se rapproche de 1.

La fonction sigmoïde est continuellement différentiable et sa dérivée est . C’est important parce que nous devons utiliser ce calcul pour entraîner les réseaux de neurones, mais ne vous en faites pas pour le moment.

Les neurones sigmoïdes ont été la base de la plupart des réseaux neuronaux pendant des décennies, mais ces dernières années ils sont devenus obsolètes. La raison de ceci sera expliquée plus en détail plus tard, mais en résumé, ils rendent difficiles les réseaux de neurones qui ont beaucoup de couches à former en raison du problème du gradient de fuite. Au lieu de cela, la plupart ont changé pour utiliser un autre type de fonction d’activation, l’unité linéaire rectifiée, ou ReLU. Malgré son nom obtus, il est simplement défini comme .

Fonction d'activation ReLU

Autrement dit, les ReLUs laissent toutes les valeurs positives passer inchangées et attribuent simplement 0 aux valeurs négatives. Bien que les nouvelles fonctions d’activation gagnent du terrain, la plupart des réseaux neuronaux actuels utilisent ReLU ou l’une de ses variantes proches.

Quelle que soit la fonction d’activation utilisée, nous pouvons visualiser un seul neurone avec ce diagramme standard, ce qui nous donne une représentation visuelle intuitive du comportement d’un neurone.

Un neurone artificiel

Le diagramme ci-dessus montre un neurone avec trois entrées et une seule valeur de sortie . Comme avant, nous calculons d’abord la somme pondérée de ses entrées, puis la passons à travers une fonction d’activation .

Vous vous demandez peut-être quel est le but d’une fonction d’activation et pourquoi il est préférable plutôt que de sortir simplement la somme pondérée, comme nous le faisons avec le classificateur linéaire du dernier chapitre. La raison en est que la somme pondérée est linéaire par rapport à ses entrées, c’est-à-dire qu’elle a une dépendance plate sur chacune des entrées. En revanche, les fonctions d’activation non linéaires augmentent considérablement notre capacité à modéliser des fonctions curvées ou non triviales. Cela deviendra plus clair dans la section suivante.

Couches

Maintenant que nous avons décrit les neurones, nous pouvons maintenant définir les réseaux de neurones. Un réseau de neurones est composé d’une série de couches de neurones, de sorte que tous les neurones de chaque couche se connectent aux neurones de la couche suivante.

Un réseaux de neurones à deux couches

Notez que lorsque nous comptons le nombre de couches dans un réseau de neurones, nous ne comptons que les couches avec des connexions entrantes (en omettant notre première ou couche d’entrée). Donc, la figure ci-dessus est d’un réseau de neurones à 2 couches avec 1 couche cachée. Il contient 3 neurones d’entrée, 2 neurones dans sa couche cachée et 1 neurone de sortie.

Notre calcul commence avec la couche d’entrée sur la gauche, à partir de laquelle nous passons les valeurs à la couche cachée, puis à son tour, la couche cachée enverra ses valeurs de sortie à la dernière couche, qui contient notre valeur finale.

Notez qu’il peut sembler que les trois neurones d’entrée envoient des valeurs multiples parce que chacun d’eux est connecté aux deux neurones dans la couche cachée. Mais il n’y a vraiment qu’une seule valeur de sortie par neurone, elle est simplement copiée le long de chacune de ses connexions de sortie. Les neurones émettent toujours une valeur, quel que soit le nombre de neurones suivants.

Régression

Le processus d’un réseau de neurones envoyant une entrée initiale à travers ses couches vers la sortie est appelé propagation vers l’avant ou une passe avant et tout réseau de neurones qui fonctionne de cette manière est appelé un réseau de neurones feedforward. Comme nous le verrons bientôt, il existe des réseaux de neurones qui permettent aux données de circuler dans des cercles, mais ne nous laissons pas devancer …

Montrons une passe en avant avec cette démo interactive. Cliquez sur le bouton “Next” dans le coin supérieur droit pour continuer.

Plus de couches, plus d’expressivité

Pourquoi les calques cachés sont-ils utiles? Si nous n’avons pas de couches cachées et que nous faisions directement la correspondance des entrées à la sortie, la contribution de chaque entrée sur la sortie est indépendante des autres entrées. Dans les problèmes du monde réel, les variables d’entrée ont tendance à être fortement interdépendantes et elles affectent la sortie de manière combinatoire complexe. Les neurones de la couche cachée nous permettent de capturer des interactions subtiles entre nos entrées qui affectent la sortie finale sur la couche finale. Une autre façon d’interpréter cela est que les couches cachées représentent des « caractéristiques » de haut niveau ou des attributs de nos données. Chacun des neurones dans la couche cachée pèse les entrées différemment, en apprenant une caractéristique intermédiaire différente des données et notre neurone de sortie est alors une fonction de ceux-ci au lieu des entrées brutes. En incluant plus d’une couche cachée, nous donnons au réseau la possibilité d’apprendre plusieurs niveaux d’abstraction des données d’entrée originales avant d’arriver à une sortie finale. Cette notion de fonctionnalités de haut niveau deviendra plus concrète dans le chapitre suivant lorsque nous examinerons détaillement les couches cachées.

Rappelons-nous également que les fonctions d’activation élargissent notre capacité à capturer les relations non linéaires entre les entrées et les sorties. En enchaînant plusieurs transformations non linéaires à travers des couches, cela augmente considérablement la flexibilité et l’expressivité des réseaux de neurones. La preuve est complexe et dépasse la portée de ce livre, mais on peut même montrer que tout réseau de neurones à 2 couches avec une fonction d’activation non linéaire (incluant sigmoïde ou ReLU) et assez d’unités cachées est un approximateur de fonction universel, c’est-à-dire qu’il est théoriquement capable d’exprimer n’importe quel mappage arbitraire d’entrée à sortie. Cette propriété est ce qui rend les réseaux de neurones si puissants.

Classification

Et la classification? Dans le chapitre précédent, nous avons introduit la classification binaire en mettant un seuil de la sortie à 0; Si notre sortie était positive, nous la classerions positivement et si elle était négative, nous la classerions négativement. Pour les réseaux de neurones, il serait raisonnable d’adapter cette approche pour le neurone final et de le classer positivement si les scores de neurones de sortie sont au-dessus d’un certain seuil. Par exemple, nous pouvons mettre un seuil à 0,5 pour les neurones sigmoïdes qui sont toujours positifs.

Mais que faire si nous avons plusieurs classes? Une option pourrait être de créer des intervalles dans le neurone de sortie qui correspondent à chaque classe, mais cela serait problématique pour des raisons que nous verrons quand nous regardons comment les réseaux de neurones sont formés. Les réseaux de neurones sont adaptés pour la classification en ayant un neurone de sortie pour chaque classe. Nous faisons une passe avant et notre prédiction est la classe correspondant au neurone qui a reçu la valeur la plus élevée. Jetons un coup d’oeil à un exemple.

Classification des chiffres manuscrits

Intéressons-nous maintenant à un exemple réel de classification utilisant des réseaux de neurones, la tâche de reconnaître et d’étiqueter des images de chiffres manuscrits. Nous allons utiliser l’ensemble de données MNIST, qui contient 60,000 images étiquetées de chiffres manuscrits de 28 x 28 pixels, dont la précision de classification sert de référence dans la recherche d’apprentissage automatique. Voici un échantillon aléatoire d’images trouvées dans l’ensemble de données.

Un échantillon aléatoire de chiffres manuscrits MNIST

La façon dont nous configurons un réseau de neurones pour classer ces images est d’avoir les valeurs de pixels bruts comme première couche et ayant 10 classes de sortie, une pour chacune de nos classes numériques de 0 à 9. Comme ce sont des images en niveaux de gris, chaque pixel a une valeur de luminosité comprise entre 0 (noir) et 255 (blanc). Toutes les images MNIST sont 28x28, donc ils contiennent 784 pixels. Nous pouvons les dérouler en un seul tableau d’entrées, comme dans la figure suivante.

Comment entrer une image dans un réseau de neurones

C’est important de se rendre compte que bien que ce réseau semble beaucoup plus imposant que notre simple réseau 3x2x1 dans le chapitre précédent, il fonctionne exactement comme avant, seulement avec beaucoup plus de neurones. Chaque neurone dans la première couche cachée reçoit toutes les entrées de la première couche. Pour la couche de sortie, nous aurons maintenant dix neurones plutôt qu’un seul, avec des connexions complètes entre elle et la couche cachée, comme avant. Chacun des dix neurones de sortie est affecté à l’étiquette d’une classe; le premier est pour le chiffre «0», le second pour «1» et ainsi de suite.

Après que le réseau de neurones a été formé - quelque chose dont nous parlerons plus en détail dans un chapitre futur - nous pouvons prédire le chiffre associé à des échantillons inconnus en les faisant passer par le même réseau et observer les valeurs de sortie. Le chiffre prédit est celui dont le neurone de sortie a la valeur la plus élevée à la fin. La démo suivante montre cela en action; cliquez sur “next” pour parcourir plus de prédictions.

Pour en savoir plus

Further reading
Further reading
Further reading
Further reading

Chapitre suivant

Dans le chapitre suivant, regardant dans les réseaux de neurones, nous analyserons de plus près les états internes des réseaux de neurones, construisant des intuitions sur les types d’informations qu’ils capturent, ainsi que les défauts des réseaux de neurones de base, en développant la motivation pour l’introduction de fonctionnalités plus complexes telles que les couches convolutives à explorer dans les chapitres suivants.

“It were much to be desired, that when mathematical processes pass through the human brain instead of through the medium of inanimate mechanism, it were equally a necessity of things that the reasonings connected with operations should hold the same just place as a clear and well-defined branch of the subject of analysis, a fundamental but yet independent ingredient in the science, which they must do in studying the engine.” Sketch of the Analytical Engine (1843), Ada Lovelace

Neural networks

中文      español      한국어      french

Nearly a century before neural networks were first conceived, Ada Lovelace described an ambition to build a “calculus of the nervous system.” Although speculative analogies between brains and machines are as old as the philosophy of computation itself, it wasn’t until Ada’s teacher Charles Babbage proposed the Analytical engine that we conceived of “calculators” having humanlike cognitive capacities. Ada would not live to see her dream of building the engine come to fruitio n, as engineers of the time were unable to produce the complex circuitry her schematics required. Nevertheless, the idea was passed on to the next century when Alan Turing cited it as the inspiration for the Imitation Game, what soon came to be called the “Turing Test.” His ruminations into the extreme limits of computation incited the first boom of artificial intelligence, setting the stage for the first golden age of neural networks.

Birth and rebirth of neural nets

The recent resurgence of neural networks is a peculiar story. Intimately connected to the early days of AI, neural networks were first formalized in the late 1940s in the form of Turing’s B-type machines, drawing upon earlier research into neural plasticity by neuroscientists and cognitive psychologists studying the learning process in human beings. As the mechanics of brain development were being discovered, computer scientists experimented with idealized versions of action potential and neural backpropagation to simulate the process in machines.

Today, most scientists caution against taking this analogy too seriously, as neural networks are strictly designed for solving machine learning problems, rather than accurately depicting the brain, while a completely separate field called computational neuroscience has taken up the the challenge of faithfully modeling the brain. Nevertheless, the metaphor of the core unit of neural networks as a simplified biological neuron has stuck over the decades. The progression from biological neurons to artificial ones can be summarized by the following figures.

Anatomy of a biological neuron
Source: ASU school of life sciences
Simplified neuron body within a network
Source: Gurney, 1997. An Introduction to Neural Networks
Artificial neuron
 

Neural networks took a big step forward when Frank Rosenblatt devised the Perceptron in the late 1950s, a type of linear classifier that we saw in the last chapter. Publicly funded by the U.S. Navy, the Mark 1 perceptron was designed to perform image recognition from an array of photocells, potentiometers, and electrical motors. Its effectiveness at completing complex electrical circuits lead the New York Times in 1958 to predict that a machine would soon “walk, talk, see, write, reproduce itself and be conscious of its existence”.

The early hype would inspire science fiction writers for decades to come, but the excitement was far more tempered in the academic community. Marvin Minsky’s and Seymour Papert’s 1969 book, Perceptrons, demonstrated various-—even trivial—limitations, inadvertently leading to a decline of interest within both academia and the general public, who had mistakenly assumed computers would simply keep up with the breakneck pace of computational power. Even Turing himself said machines would possess human-level intelligence by the year 2000 – the year we had the Y2K scare.

Despite a number of quiet but significant improvements to neural networks in the 80s and 90s [1][2][3], they remained on the sidelines through the 2000s, with most commercial and industrial applications of machine learning favoring support vector machines and various other approaches. Starting in 2009 and especially ramping up from 2012, neural networks have once again become the dominant strain of ML algorithms. Their resurgence was largely brought about by the emergence of convolutional and recurrent neural networks, which have surpassed (sometimes dramatically so) previous state-of-the-art methods for key problems in the audiovisual domain. But more interestingly, they have a number of new applications and properties not seen before, especially of a kind that has piqued the interest of artists and others from outside the AI field proper. This book will look more closely at convolutional neural networks in particular several chapters from now.

Although many learning algorithms have been proposed over the years, we will mostly focus our attention on neural networks because:

From linear classifiers to neurons

Recall from the previous chapter that the input to a 2d linear classifier or regressor has the form:

More generally, in any number of dimensions, it can be expressed as

In the case of regression, gives us our predicted output, given the input vector . In the case of classification, our predicted class is given by

Each weight, , can be interpreted as signifying the relative influence of the input that it’s multiplied by, . The term in the equation is often called the bias, because it controls how predisposed the neuron is to firing a 1 or 0, irrespective of the weights. A high bias makes the neuron require a larger input to output a 1, and a lower one makes it easier.

We can get from this formula to a full-fledged neural network by introducing two innovations. The first is the addition of an activation function, which turns our linear discriminator into what’s called a neuron, or a “unit” (to dissociate them from the brain analogy). The second innovation is an architecture of neurons which are connected sequentially in layers. We will introduce these innovations in that order.

Activation function

In both artificial and biological neural networks, a neuron does not just output the bare input it receives. Instead, there is one more step, called an activation function, analagous to the rate of action potential firing in the brain. The activation function takes the same weighted sum input from before, , and then transforms it once more before finally outputting it.

Many activation functions have been proposed, but for now we will describe two in detail: sigmoid and ReLU.

Historically, the sigmoid function is the oldest and most popular activation function. It is defined as:

denotes the exponential constant, roughly equal to 2.71828. A neuron which uses a sigmoid as its activation function is called a sigmoid neuron. We first set the variable to our original weighted sum input, and then pass that through the sigmoid function.

At first, this equation may seem complicated and arbitrary, but it actually has a very simple shape, which we can see if we plot the value of as a function of the input .

Sigmoid activation function

We can see that acts as a sort of “squashing” function, condensing our previously unbounded output to the range 0 to 1. In the center, where , . For large negative values of , the term in the denominator grows exponentially, and approaches 0. Conversely, large positive values of shrink to 0, so approaches 1.

The sigmoid function is continuously differentiable, and its derivative, conveniently, is . This is important because we have to use calculus to train neural networks, but don’t worry about that for now.

Sigmoid neurons were the basis of most neural networks for decades, but in recent years, they have fallen out of favor. The reason for this will be explained in more detail later, but in short, they make neural networks that have many layers difficult to train due to the vanishing gradient problem. Instead, most have shifted to using another type of activation function, the rectified linear unit, or ReLU for short. Despite its obtuse name, it is simply defined as .

ReLU activation function

In other words, ReLUs let all positive values pass through unchanged, but just sets any negative value to 0. Although newer activation functions are gaining traction, most deep neural networks these days use ReLU or one of its closely related variants.

Regardless of which activation function is used, we can visualize a single neuron with this standard diagram, giving us a nice intuitive visual representation of a neuron’s behavior.

An artificial neuron

The above diagram shows a neuron with three inputs, and outputs a single value . As before, we first compute the weighted sum of its inputs, then pass it through an activation function .

You may be wondering what the purpose of an activation function is, and why it is preferred to simply outputting the weighted sum, as we do with the linear classifier from the last chapter. The reason is that the weighted sum, , is linear with respect to its inputs, i.e. it has a flat dependence on each of the inputs. In contrast, non-linear activation functions greatly expand our capacity to model curved or otherwise non-trivial functions. This will become clearer in the next section.

Layers

Now that we have described neurons, we can now define neural networks. A neural network is composed of a series of layers of neurons, such that all the neurons in each layer connect to the neurons in the next layer.

A 2-layer neural network

Note that when we count the number of layers in a neural network, we only count the layers with connections flowing into them (omitting our first, or input layer). So the above figure is of a 2-layer neural network with 1 hidden layer. It contains 3 input neurons, 2 neurons in its hidden layer, and 1 output neuron.

Our computation starts with the input layer on the left, from which we pass the values to the hidden layer, and then in turn, the hidden layer will send its output values to the last layer, which contains our final value.

Note that it may look like the three input neurons send out multiple values because each of them are connected to both of the neurons in the hidden layer. But really there is still only one output value per neuron, it just gets copied along each of its output connections. Neurons always output one value, no matter how many subsequent neurons it sends it to.

Regression

The process of a neural network sending an initial input forward through its layers to the output is called forward propagation or a forward pass and any neural network which works this way is called a feedforward neural network. As we shall soon see, there are some neural networks which allow data to flow in circles, but let’s not get ahead of ourselves yet…

Let’s demonstrate a forward pass with this interactive demo. Click the ‘Next’ button in the top-right corner to proceed.

More layers, more expressiveness

Why are hidden layers useful? The reason is that if we have no hidden layers and map directly from inputs to output, each input’s contribution on the output is independent of the other inputs. In real-world problems, input variables tend to be highly interdependent and they affect the output in combinatorially intricate ways. The hidden layer neurons allow us to capture subtle interactions among our inputs which affect the final output downstream. Another way to interpret this is that the hidden layers represent higher-level “features” or attributes of our data. Each of the neurons in the hidden layer weigh the inputs differently, learning some different intermediary characteristic of the data, and our output neuron is then a function of these instead of the raw inputs. By including more than one hidden layer, we give the network an opportunity to learn multiple levels of abstraction of the original input data before arriving at a final output. This notion of high-level features will become more concrete in the next chapter when we look closely at the hidden layers.

Recall also that activation functions expand our capacity to capture non-linear relationships between inputs and outputs. By chaining multiple non-linear transformations together through layers, this dramatically increases the flexibility and expressiveness of neural networks. The proof of this is complex and beyond the scope of this book, but it can even be shown that any 2-layer neural network with a non-linear activation function (including sigmoid or ReLU) and enough hidden units is a universal function approximator, that is it’s theoretically capable of expressing any arbitrary input-to-output mapping. This property is what makes neural networks so powerful.

Classification

What about classification? In the previous chapter, we introduced binary classification by simply thresholding the output at 0; If our output was positive, we’d classify positively, and if it was negative, we’d classify negatively. For neural networks, it would be reasonable to adapt this approach for the final neuron, and classify positively if the output neuron scores above some threshold. For example, we can threshold at 0.5 for sigmoid neurons which are always positive.

But what if we have multiple classes? One option might be to create intervals in the output neuron which correspond to each class, but this would be problematic for reasons that we will learn about when we look at how neural networks are trained. Instead, neural networks are adapted for classification by having one output neuron for each class. We do a forward pass and our prediction is the class corresponding to the neuron which received the highest value. Let’s have a look at an example.

Classification of handwritten digits

Let’s now tackle a real world example of classification using neural networks, the task of recognizing and labeling images of handwritten digits. We are going to use the MNIST dataset, which contains 60,000 labeled images of handwritten digits sized 28x28 pixels, whose classification accuracy serves as a common benchmark in machine learning research. Below is a random sample of images found in the dataset.

A random sample of MNIST handwritten digits

The way we setup a neural network to classify these images is by having the raw pixel values be our first layer inputs, and having 10 output classes, one for each of our digit classes from 0 to 9. Since they are grayscale images, each pixel has a brightness value between 0 (black) and 255 (white). All the MNIST images are 28x28, so they contain 784 pixels. We can unroll these into a single array of inputs, like in the following figure.

How to input an image into a neural network

The important thing to realize is that although this network seems a lot more imposing than our simple 3x2x1 network in the previous chapter, it works exactly as before, just with many more neurons. Each neuron in the first hidden layer receives all the inputs from the first layer. For the output layer, we’ll now have ten neurons rather than just one, with full connections between it and the hidden layer, as before. Each of the ten output neurons is assigned to one class label; the first one is for the digit 0, the second for 1, and so on.

After the neural network has been trained – something we’ll talk about in more detail in a future chapter – we can predict the digit associated with unknown samples by running them through the same network and observing the output values. The predicted digit is that whose output neuron has the highest value at the end. The following demo shows this in action; click “next” to flip through more predictions.

Further reading

Further reading
Further reading
Further reading
Further reading

Next chapter

In the next chapter, looking inside neural networks, we will analyze the internal states of neural networks more closely, building up intuitions on what sorts of information they capture, as well as pointing out the flaws of basic neural nets, building up motivation for introducing more complex features such as convolutional layers to be explored in later chapters.